Psychology e-books from our collection
Below is a sample of some of the books in psychology, available at the Chaffey Library. The following books are available online and can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection.
Opportunities in Psychology Careers by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0071642080Publication Date: 2009-01-011 reader at a time
Library Online eBooks
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Psychology books from our collection
Below is a sample of some of the books in psychology, available at the Chaffey Library. The following books are available on the general collection shelves in the Rancho campus library. The call number is the identifying number assigned to the book and can be found on the spine of the book.
Animal Spirits by Call Number: 330.1 A31ISBN: 0691142335Publication Date: 2009-01-291 print copy at Rancho
The Cinderella Test: Would You Really Want the Shoe to Fit? by Call Number: 301.412 M111ISBN: 0313379246Publication Date: 2009-07-011 print copy at Rancho
Why Use Books and eBooks?
Books are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.
How to Find Print and Electronic Books
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Type in search term(s) and press the Search button.
Hint: Scan the titles/subjects listed for ebooks in your results to more quickly locate items more relevant to your topic.
Tips:
- The Subjects area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
- Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections.
- Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.
Another useful tool for scanning for relevant information is the Search this eBook tool accessible via the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the full-text page. Type in a word or phrase, and page(s) containing those term(s) will appear in the upper portion of the web page.
To move between pages of a book, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing and citing in the Tools area to the right.
Note: This is our one database that limits downloading, printing, emailing, & saving to 60 pages per session.
Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!
Locating Print Books- When viewing the search results list, an item's status is shown in green text. An item's location is shown in blue text. In the example below, the book "Paula" is shown as Available at Chaffey College Rancho in the General Collection. The item's call number is 863. A43. Click on the title or image of a book in the results page to view more information.
- Location- Books can be located at our Chino, Fontana or Rancho locations. Reserve items can only be used and returned at item's home location.
- Status- If the status is listed as Available, the item should be on our shelves. Other statuses such as Checked Out or Lost indicate that the item is not available at the moment.
- Call Number- Be sure to note the item's call number, as it is needed to find the item in the library. Reserve items are available at the front desk.
Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.
E-books- To access an e-book, click on the title or the Available Online link. Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Notable Reference Titles for Psychology
Reference titles are a great place to start if you are still looking for a topic. They provide short, concise entries of information and will often contain a userful bibliography to lead you to other resources in your discipline. Below is a sample of reference titles in psychology.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by Call Number: R 616.89 D53 2013ISBN: 0890425558Publication Date: 2013-05-221 print copy at Rancho in Reference Collection
A Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: R 150.3 C71ISBN: 0192806327Publication Date: 2006-04-121 print copy at Rancho in Reference Collection
