Research Guides: A-Z Resource List: A-Z Database List

A

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990, some with full text.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of resources in American history. Includes some primary source material.
AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
Online version of the AP Stylebook, published by the Associated Press. Video: Navigating the AP Stylebook

B

Bloomsbury Fashion Central: Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks covering topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals in the area of business as well as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

C

CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for current journals and publications in the nursing and allied health fields. Many articles are available full-text.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals and other research resources in the field of communication and mass media studies.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides country-specific information on each of the countries of the world in the areas of geography, news, politics, economics and culture.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text access to academic and professional research resources in the areas of administration of justice, correctional science and related fields.

D

Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
Includes videos of live theater productions, audio productions, theory and criticism from British as well as some American sources.

E

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Access to education literature and resources including academic journal articles, conference papers, and more. Limited full-text.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.

F

Fairchild Books Interior Design Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks covering topics in Interior Design, from the History of Interior Design to Professional Practice.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 25,000 videos in a wide variety of disciplines.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Covers information relevant to the food industry including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also available.

G

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.

H

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an index of magazines and journals articles in the medical disciplines. Many of the articles are available full-text.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to field of hospitality and related disciplines.

J

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.

L

Life Magazine This link opens in a new window
Full-text, cover to cover access from 1936-2000.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors. Excellent for critiques on contemporary authors. Most useful for contemporary U.S. authors. There's a great timeline useful for assignments outside of the English/Literature field as well. Watch the How to Use Literary Reference Center Plus video.

M

MedLine This link opens in a new window
Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. Limited full-text.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes pamphlets, and magazine and journal articles, many full-text, relating to the military and government fields. Useful for papers on foreign policy and military topics.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources in MLA format. Watch the How to use MLA Handbook video and guide
MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.

N

Nature This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 70 magazines and journals in the biological and medical sciences including Nature magazine.
Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)

O

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as material from other reference sources including specialized encyclopedias to present social issues. Great place to check for topics for research papers. Most useful for selecting a topic, position papers, statistics and background reference material.

Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection
Full-text access to five core practitioner journals in the Nursing field including American Journal of Nursing and Nursing (2013).

Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium containing the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Journals-Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 50 key journals from Oxford University press covering a wide variety of disciplines.

P

Police Quarterly This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes empirical studies on issues related to policing, publishing both qualitative and quantitative police-related research that emphasizes policy-oriented research. Full-text: 1998-present.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and academic journal articles in the field of politics and government, many relevant to the history field.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.

R

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles out of business journals, newspapers, and news wires focusing on regional areas of the United States.

S

Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to science-oriented content including encyclopedias, reference books and periodicals.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to archives and current issue of Scientific American.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Access to a over 70 feature films in a wide variety of genres. Watch the How To Use Swank Digital Campus video.

T

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals, published by Taylor & Francis and its subsidiaries. Articles with green checkmark in results are full text.

V

Vocational Studies Complete
Provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related magazines and journals. Useful for finding career information.

W

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Covers life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Articles with full-text access indicated with an open lock icon.

Most Popular Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.

Database Help

How to use Library Databases at Chaffey College
Videos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.

Login Help

Get Started
• Click on the database that you would like to use.
• Log in using your MyChaffey Portal log in.
• Once you successfully log in, you will be taken to your selected database.

Not sure what database to choose? Browse our subject specific research guides for help!

Research Guides

Help
If you have any problems logging in, or are a first time user, go to:

MyChaffey Portal

If you are still having trouble, please contact us at library@chaffey.edu.