Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Notable web articles
"We Are All Pussy Riot": Kathleen Hanna Speaks on the Jailed Feminist Punk Group
by Jenn Pelly, Aug 15, 2012. Discusses the influence of the riot grrrl movement on Pussy Riot, the Russian musicians who were jailed in Russia for performing anti-Putin lyrics. Kathleen Hanna, or Riot Grrl, is interviewed.
Not Every Girl is a Riot Grrrl: Today's Musicians Grapple With the Feminist Punk Legacy of Riot Grrrl.
by Lindsay Zoladz, Nov 16, 2011, Pitchfork. The author discusses From the Back of the Room, Amy Oden's documentary about women and punk rock. The author discusses the evolution of female punk as seen in the documentary, and why some women did not feel associated with the female punk rock scene.
Pussy Riot's Nadya Tolokonnikova and Masha Alyokhina
The two Pussy Riot members are interviewed from their attendance at Women in the World summit, held in New York in 2014 to highlight women's experiences around the globe.
Why I Was Never a Riot Grrrl
by Laina Dawes, May 15, 2013. Bitch Media. The author discusses the connections of race and gender in the RiotGrrl movement.
Guides for writing about Music
Song Index: California Library Systems
"The California Library System Cooperative Song Index contains 145,000 song titles (mostly popular music) from 1,500 sheet music collections (song books, magazines, and other collections). It indexes the collections of the California Library System Reference Centers and some of the libraries in the system. It is maintained by the San Joaquin Valley Information Service."
Song Index: Los Angeles Public Library
Search for songs in books owned by LAPL. Contains collection of songs held by Los Angeles Public Library.
UT Song Index (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
The UT Song Index database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee, located in Knoxville. Use this citation index to determine which anthologies contain the song(s) you need. Does not include song lyrics or music, but information about the book the song can be found in.
The Aria Database
A vital research tool for "both singers and opera fans," providing invaluable information "concerning preparing an aria, including synopsis, range and tessitura, voice part, role, and where to find the sheet music."
"Accurate word-for-word translations of songs and arias in Latin, Italian, German, and French with International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions in the user-friendly PDF format."
Lied and Song Texts Page
Texts of lied and art songs at this site can be accessed by first line, title, poet, or composer.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities