Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
Library's collection of eBooks
Gale Virtual Reference
Searchable access to full-text of 38 Gale encyclopedias and reference titles covering several subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data.
Vocational Studies Complete
Provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related magazines and journals. Useful for finding career information.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
College Student Journal
Publishes original investigations and theoretical papers dealing with college student values, attitudes, opinions and learning. Includes coverage of graduate and professional schools.
Occupational Outlook Quarterly
Articles deal with all aspects of employment and the interests of specific occupations. Published by the US Dept. of Labor.
Personnel & Guidance Journal
Articles of interest aimed at counselors, counseling psychologists & student personnel specialists who work in schools, colleges, community agencies & government.
Techniques: Making Education & Career Connections
Articles, profiles and interviews, legislation, news notes and what's new in vocational education for administrators, teachers and counselors.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities