Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListOur complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Find all the articles
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1
Key Databases for One Book One College
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowSeries of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
- Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors. Excellent for critiques on contemporary authors. Most useful for contemporary U.S. authors. There's a great timeline useful for assignments outside of the English/Literature field as well. Watch the How to Use Literary Reference Center Plus video.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles
Journal Articles
- Scholarly, peer reviewed and carefully fact checked
Written by subject specialists, often containing original research
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
Relevant Journal Titles
- Contemporary Justice ReviewProvides information for scholars, practitioners & activists of justice around the globe who seek to explore new models & demonstration projects of justice that have applicability to social systems from the local to the international level.
- Journal of Urban AffairsArticles and book reviews about contemporary urban issues for social scientists. Information about public policies, programs, social change and administration.
- Police Practice & ResearchPresents current & innovative police research as well as operational & administrative practices from around the world.
- Policing & SocietyConcerned with the activity of policing & the factors which affect it.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as Health
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group type, such as Childhood Obesity
- Including a location, such as California
- Change the date range to the last few years, so the information is current