Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Sources
Bainbridge State College. "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It." YouTube. YouTube, 5 Jan. 2010. Web. 19 Oct. 2014.
A transcript is in process for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.
Consequences of Plagiarism Here at Chaffey
The School Dean may impose the following sanctions after meeting with the student:
- verbal warning or written reprimand
- failing grade for an assignment
- failing grade in the course
- removal from class
- restitution
Citation Styles
What is MLA Style?
MLA (Modern Language Association) style specifies guidelines for formatting papers. MLA style also provides a system for referencing sources through parenthetical citation in essays and Works Cited pages. Most importantly, the use of MLA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.
MLA Handbook 9th Edition
"MLA Handbook 9th Edition Simplified: Concise Guide to the MLA 9th Edition Handbook" is specifically designed for students and professional writers to quickly learn updated MLA Style in a convenient and easy way. With this guide, you will be able to format your paper according to the MLA style right away thanks to its easy-to-navigate structure and step-by-step guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format. MLA Handbook Ninth Edition Simplified offers general guidelines and multiple examples that allow writers: -to cite any type of work; -to format title pages, running head, headings, lists, etc.; -to learn more about in-text citations, quoting, paraphrasing; -to create Works Cited list in MLA format; -to use footnotes and endnotes; -to format tables, figures, and examples, etc. Includes MLA-formatted Sample Paper. Learn more about spelling, punctuation, capitalization, italics, abbreviations, numbers, etc.
Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9781471718892Publication Date: 2022-04-23
- MLA Style Documentation (9th Edition) MLA Style Documentation
- MLA Sample Paper (9th Edition) MLA Sample Paper
- Chaffey College's Success CentersNeed more help? Contact the Language Success Center for tutors and workshops on citing your sources.
- OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - MLA Formatting and Style GuideHelps you better understand how to cite sources using MLA Style, including the list of works cited and in-text citations.
What is APA Style?
APA format is the official style of the American Psychological Association (APA) and is commonly used to cite sources in psychology, education, and the social sciences. Most importantly, the use of APA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Edition by Call Number: 808.06 A51 c.4ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-012 print copies at Rancho (1 for checkout, 1 in Reference)
1 print copy at Chino (in Reference)
1 print copy at Fontana (in Reference)
- Chaffey College's Success CentersNeed more help? Contact the Language Success Center for tutors and workshops on citing your sources.
- OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - APA Formatting and Style Guide (7th edition)Overview of APA (American Psychological Association) style and where to find information with different APA resources.
What is Chicago Style?
The Chicago Manual of Style sets the standard for scholarly publishing in the Humanities. Chicago offers two citation formats, the author-date reference format and the standard bibliographic format, each of which provides conventions for organizing footnotes or endnotes, as well as bibliographic citations. Most importantly, the use of Chicago style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05
- Chicago Style Documentation & Sample Paper Chicago Style Documentation & Sample Paper
- Chaffey College's Success CentersNeed more help? Contact the Language Success Center for tutors and workshops on citing your sources.
- OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - Chicago Formatting and Style GuideInformation on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation.
Why is it Important to Cite Your Sources for Your Research Papers?
Citing sources and creating a Bibliography/Works Cited List:
- Gives credit to the author(s)
- Illustrates your ability to locate & evaluate appropriate sources
- Provides evidence for the arguments and conclusions in your paper
- Prevents plagarism and copyright infringement
What Is Plagiarism?
What is Plagiarism? pla·gia·rism (noun)
The practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.
Synonyms - copying, infringement of copyright, piracy, theft, stealing. Informal - cribbing "accusations of plagiarism". Source: Google Definition
Plagiarism can be intentional or unintentional
Citations Galore!
https://blog.writersdomain.net/2014/06/17/this-aint-your-high-school-english-class-why-plagiarism-is-a-big-deal/
Bibliography Generators on the Web!
The Nuts & Bolts
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
What is Chicago Manual of Style?
The Chicago Manual of Style sets the standard for scholarly publishing in the Humanities. Chicago offers two citation formats, the author-date reference format and the standard bibliographic format, each of which provides conventions for organizing footnotes or endnotes, as well as bibliographic citations.