Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Scholarly & Popular Sources video
Carnegie Vincent Library. "Scholarly and Popular Sources." YouTube. YouTube, 22 Mar. 2013. Web. 22 Oct. 2014.
A transcript is in the process of being created for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at email@example.com.
Recommended Article Databases for SOC 16
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
Provides country-specific information on each of the countries of the world in the areas of geography, news, politics, economics and culture.
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles
- Scholarly, peer reviewed and carefully fact checked
- Written by subject specialists, often containing original research
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities