Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Access to full-text scholarly journals and other research resources in the field of communication and mass media studies.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Includes information in a variety of formats including book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles and statistical data.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Subject Journal Titles
Communications of the ACM
Articles to advance the science and arts of information processing, to promote the free interchange of information among specialists and the public, and develop and maintain integrity and competence of individuals in the field.
Library Technology Reports
Provides authoritative information on library systems, equipment, and supplies. Nov/Dec 2017 issue devoted to fake/false news, providing a history of the phenomena.
Articles, book reviews, commentary and Nieman Foundation news about the national and international journalism industry.
Society for Professional Journalists. Articles, special reports, essays, commentary interviews, profiles, and news of note for professional journalists.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities