Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
Access to full-text scholarly journals. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Good coverage in Anthropology and related disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology. Includes coverage of Anthropology journals such as Current Anthropology.
Wiley Online Library
Covers life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Articles with full-text access indicated with an open lock icon. Solid coverage in Anthropology and related disciplines including full-text access to American Journal of Physical Anthropology.
Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals, published by Taylor & Francis and its subsidiaries. Articles with green checkmark in results are full text. Good coverage in Anthropology and related disciplines including access to Anthropological Forum.
Full-text access to over 70 magazines and journals in the biological and medical sciences including Nature magazine.
Full-text access to archives and current issue of Scientific American.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities