Website Evaluation Tutorial
- Website Evaluation TutorialIf you're starting a research assignment and want to do a quick review on how to evaluate websites. Check out our online website evaluation tutorial.
Quick Tips for Assessing Source Credibility
- Identify who’s behind the information-Who is the author/creator and publisher/disseminator of the information? Check for and scan the About section on the site and any parent sites as well as for information on the author(s).
- What do others think of them?-Google the author/disseminator! What do sources that you recognize in the results (such as Wikipedia) have to say about them in terms of credibility and purpose (where do they fall on the ideological spectrum, how long have they been around, follow the money trail, etc.)
- Track down original source material-Is a specific survey, study or set of statistics mentioned? Try to track down the original and come to your own conclusions: do not rely on second-hand interpretations!
- Listen to your intuition-Does something just not sit right about the source? (Wording too pat or generic, claims that seem exaggerated, etc.). Check Google to see what other resources have to say about the issue, claim, etc.
Recommended Websites
Physical Anthropology
- Human Evolution, Smithsonian: National Museum of Natural HistoryCommitted to expanding the public understanding of human evolution. Includes an interactive timeline, a digital collection of fossils with 3D rotation, human family tree, among other resources.
- eFossils, University of Texas at AustinA collaborative website in which users can explore important fossil localities and browse the fossil digital library.
- African Fossils: An Initiative of Louise LeakeyShowcases some of the spectacular specimens in the collection of fossils housed in the National Museums of Kenya including some of the more complete and significant examples in the fossil assemblage.
Archeology
- Archaeological Institute of AmericaThe Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) is North America's oldest and largest organization devoted to the world of archaeology. Features interactive digs and excavations, among other resources.
Linguistics
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages
- Linguistics Society of AmericaFounded in 1924 and one of the major professional organizations for the discipline. Includes a directory with links to linguistics departments in the Student Resources section.
Evaluating Websites for Use for Research Assignments
Introducing SIFT
SIFT is an easy-to-use four-step method of fact-checking information you find anywhere. Digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield has created a few short videos to explain how to best use SIFT.
Step 1: Stop!
Before you use a source. ask yourself:
Who's responsible for the information?
Who created and disseminated it? And do you recognize the source?
If so, do you trust it? If the answer is no or you're unsure, consider some of the following:
Step 2: Investigate the Source
What do others have to say about the source? (Hint: Try scanning the Wikipedia article on the source, if there is one) Look for surprises, particularly those that deviate from your initial impression! Take a look at the video (2:45) that covers how to fact-check efficiently and effectively by "reading vertically"
Step 3: Find Better Coverage
If you're unsure about a source especially if it is making a claim that you want to use or share, investigate if other sources that you trust more are also making the claim. The following video (4:10) covers strategies for finding better coverage of a claim:
Step 4: Trace Claims, Quotes and media to the Original Context
Context is critical when it comes to information claims. And information changes as it gets passed along and shared, sometimes unintentionally, sometimes deliberately. So, consider tracing the claim back to its original source and context. Take a look at the following video (1:33) that covers tips for "going upstream" and finding the original context:
Google Advanced Search
Quick Tip: If you are searching Google for a website with a specific domain, such as a .gov or .edu, when you type in your search add "site:" and the domain type at the end of your search term. For example, if you wanted to find government websites on gun control, type in "gun control site:.gov". Or if you wanted to specifically search for non-profit websites that had information on wildlife, type in "wildlife site:.org".
- Google Advanced SearchUse to specify website domain when searching, such as .gov sites for government information.