Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListList of all the library databases containing articles on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7, just login with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
NAICS and SIC Codes
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
- Number-based classification systems used for analyzing, collecting and publishing data on companies in the United States
- NAICS system replaced SIC in 1997 but SIC is still used by some businesses, publishers and databases
- Many government-based resources and many of our databases tag industries and companies by NAICS code or descriptor
- Browse for NAICS Codes, Census BureauSearch or browse for standard descriptions of industries and assigned NAICS codes.
Recommended Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals in the area of business as well as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to five major national papers including: Wall Street Journal (1984-present),Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Washington Post (1987-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text articles out of business journals, newspapers, and news wires focusing on regional areas of the United States.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Find all the articles
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1