Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Books & eBooks
The Voting Rights War by The Voting Rights War tells the story of the courageous struggle to achieve voting equality through more than one hundred years of work by the NAACP at the Supreme Court. Readers take the journey for voting rights from slavery to the Plessy v. Ferguson case that legalized segregation in 1896 through today's conﬂicts around voter suppression. The NAACP brought important cases to the Supreme Court that challenged obstacles to voting: grandfather clauses, all-White primaries, literacy tests, gerrymandering, vote dilution, felony disenfranchisement, and photo identiﬁcation laws. This book highlights the challenges facing American voters, especially African Americans, the brave work of NAACP members, and the often contentious relationship between the NAACP and the Supreme Court. This book shows the human price paid for the right to vote and the intellectual stamina needed for each legal battle. The Voting Rights War follows conﬂicts on the ground and in the courtroom, from post-slavery voting rights and the formation of the NAACP to its ongoing work to gain a basic right guaranteed to every citizen. Whether through litigation, lobbying, or protest, the NAACP continues to play an unprecedented role in the battle for voting equality in America, ﬁghting against prison gerrymandering, racial redistricting, the gutting of the Voting Rights Act, and more. The Voting Rights War highlights the NAACP's powerful contribution and legacy.
Call Number: 324.6 B88 (Book)
American Government and Politics Today: Essentials by AMERICAN GOVERNMENT AND POLITICS TODAY: THE ESSENTIALS, 2015-2016 Edition inspires students to join the exciting process of being active, informed citizens. Unbiased, concisely organized, and updated with Election 2014 coverage, the text's fundamental theme continues to be the importance of participating in active citizenship, emphasizing critical thinking about political issues and encouraging students to become involved in the political process. With a keen understanding of the needs and interests of today's students, the authors incorporate compelling and thought-provoking current examples to stimulate learning and excitement.
Call Number: 320.973 B24 (Book)
Democracy for Realists by Democracy for Realists assails the romantic folk-theory at the heart of contemporary thinking about democratic politics and government, and offers a provocative alternative view grounded in the actual human nature of democratic citizens. Christopher Achen and Larry Bartels deploy a wealth of social-scientific evidence, including ingenious original analyses of topics ranging from abortion politics and budget deficits to the Great Depression and shark attacks, to show that the familiar ideal of thoughtful citizens steering the ship of state from the voting booth is fundamentally misguided. They demonstrate that voters--even those who are well informed and politically engaged--mostly choose parties and candidates on the basis of social identities and partisan loyalties, not political issues. They also show that voters adjust their policy views and even their perceptions of basic matters of fact to match those loyalties. When parties are roughly evenly matched, elections often turn on irrelevant or misleading considerations such as economic spurts or downturns beyond the incumbents' control; the outcomes are essentially random. Thus, voters do not control the course of public policy, even indirectly. Achen and Bartels argue that democratic theory needs to be founded on identity groups and political parties, not on the preferences of individual voters. Democracy for Realists provides a powerful challenge to conventional thinking, pointing the way toward a fundamentally different understanding of the realities and potential of democratic government.
Call Number: eBook
The Ethics of Voting by Nothing is more integral to democracy than voting. Most people believe that every citizen has the civic duty or moral obligation to vote, that any sincere vote is morally acceptable, and that buying, selling, or trading votes is inherently wrong. In this provocative book, Jason Brennan challenges our fundamental assumptions about voting, revealing why it is not a duty for most citizens--in fact, he argues, many people owe it to the rest of us not to vote. Bad choices at the polls can result in unjust laws, needless wars, and calamitous economic policies. Brennan shows why voters have duties to make informed decisions in the voting booth, to base their decisions on sound evidence for what will create the best possible policies, and to promote the common good rather than their own self-interest. They must vote well--or not vote at all. Brennan explains why voting is not necessarily the best way for citizens to exercise their civic duty, and why some citizens need to stay away from the polls to protect the democratic process from their uninformed, irrational, or immoral votes. In a democracy, every citizen has the right to vote. This book reveals why sometimes it's best if they don't. In a new afterword, "How to Vote Well," Brennan provides a practical guidebook for making well-informed, well-reasoned choices at the polls.
Call Number: eBook
Minority Voting in the United States by What are the voting behaviors of the various minority groups in the United States and how will they shape the elections of tomorrow? This book explores the history of minority voting blocs and their influence on future American elections. Provides a thorough analysis of the most prominent minority voting blocks in the United States in an accessible, easy-to-understand format Uses the most current scholarship available to provide a resource for students, journalists, and scholars to examine election trends Offers the reader a wealth of background and historical information Includes a comprehensive bibliography for additional reading Delves into topics that will impact future elections
Call Number: eBook
The Presidential Election Process by Editor Tom Lansford has compiled a compelling sequence of for-or-against essays that will give readers a balanced foundation on the presidential election process. Across four chapters, readers will explore whether the nomination process produces the best candidates, whether campaign spending should be limited, whether the media unfairly influence campaigns, and whether or not the electoral college should be abolished or reformed.
Call Number: 324.6 P93 l (Book)
The U. S. Election System by The unique way in which Americans elect their public officials is explored in this volume, from financing campaigns, to registering voters, to the function of the electoral college. Articles also examine the two-party system, the nomination and convention process, and issues particular to the 2004 election.
Call Number: 324.6 U58 (Book)
Voter Fraud by During the 2016 Presidential election, there were repeated allegations made about voter fraud, by the winning candidate. Semi-annual studies by the Brennan Center for Justice of NYU conclusively demonstrate however, that most allegations of fraud turn out to be baseless. Issues relating to false numbers are more often the result of mistakes made by voters and election officials than intentional foul play. Nevertheless, voter fraud can occur. This edition examines issues related to election processes and the problem of fraud. It includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives; eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials, and many others.
Call Number: 324.6 V971 a (Book)
Voting Rights by Editor Noah Berlatsky helps readers delve into the issues surrounding voting rights such as whether or not voting rights protections are still necessary, if states are restricting voting rights, if voting rights apply to particular groups, and if changing voting procedures can promote equality. The essays that debate each of these subjects are selected from a wide range of highly respected sources and publications.
Call Number: 324.6 V972 (Book)
Voting the Gender Gap by This book concentrates on the gender gap in voting--the difference in the proportion of women and men voting for the same candidate. Evident in every presidential election since 1980, this polling phenomenon reached a high of 11 percentage points in the 1996 election. The contributors discuss the history, complexity, and ways of analyzing the gender gap; the gender gap in relation to partisanship; motherhood, ethnicity, and the impact of parental status on the gender gap; and the gender gap in races involving female candidates. Voting the Gender Gap analyzes trends in voting while probing how women's political empowerment and gender affect American politics and the electoral process. Contributors are Susan J. Carroll, Erin Cassese, Cal Clark, Janet M. Clark, M. Margaret Conway, Kathleen A. Dolan, Laurel Elder, Kathleen A. Frankovic, Steven Greene, Leonie Huddy, Mary-Kate Lizotte, Barbara Norrander, Margie Omero, and Lois Duke Whitaker.
Call Number: eBook
The Politics of Voter Suppression by The Politics of Voter Suppression arrives in time to assess actual practices at the polls this fall and to reengage with debates about voter suppression tactics such as requiring specific forms of identification. Tova Andrea Wang examines the history of how U.S. election reforms have been manipulated for partisan advantage and establishes a new framework for analyzing current laws and policies. The tactics that have been employed to suppress voting in recent elections are not novel, she finds, but rather build upon the strategies used by a variety of actors going back nearly a century and a half. This continuity, along with the shift to a Republican domination of voter suppression efforts for the past fifty years, should inform what we think about reform policy today. Wang argues that activities that suppress voting are almost always illegitimate, while reforms that increase participation are nearly always legitimate. In short, use and abuse of election laws and policies to suppress votes has obvious detrimental impacts on democracy itself. Such activities are also harmful because of their direct impacts on actual election outcomes. Wang regards as beneficial any legal effort to increase the number of Americans involved in the electoral system. This includes efforts that are focused on improving voter turnout among certain populations typically regarded as supporting one party, as long as the methods and means for boosting participation are open to all. Wang identifies and describes a number of specific legitimate and positive reforms that will increase voter turnout.
Call Number: eBook
Why Use Books and eBooks?
Books are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.
How to Find Print and Electronic Books
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Click to login using MyChaffey credentials.
Type in search term(s) and press the Search button.
Hint: Scan the titles/subjects listed for ebooks in your results to more quickly locate items more relevant to your topic.
- The Subjects area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
- Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections.
- Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.
Another useful tool for scanning for relevant information is the Search this eBook tool accessible via the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the full-text page. Type in a word or phrase, and page(s) containing those term(s) will appear in the upper portion of the web page.
To move between pages of a book, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing and citing in the Tools area to the right.
Note: This is our one database that limits downloading, printing, emailing, & saving to 60 pages per session.
Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!
Locating Print Books- When viewing the search results list, an item's status is shown in green text. An item's location is shown in blue text. In the example below, the book "Paula" is shown as Available at Chaffey College Rancho in the General Collection. The item's call number is 863. A43. Click on the title or image of a book in the results page to view more information.
- Location- Books can be located at our Chino, Fontana or Rancho locations. Reserve items can only be used and returned at item's home location.
- Status- If the status is listed as Available, the item should be on our shelves. Other statuses such as Checked Out or Lost indicate that the item is not available at the moment.
- Call Number- Be sure to note the item's call number, as it is needed to find the item in the library. Reserve items are available at the front desk.
Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.
E-books- To access an e-book, click on the title or the Available Online link. Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities