Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of resources in American history. Includes some primary source material. Use keyword "Deaf Culture" to search this database.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for current journals and publications in the nursing and allied health fields. Many articles are available full-text. Use keyword "deaf" to search-->then select "Deaf-Blind Disorders or/and Deaf Education or/and Schools, Special," and click Search Database button on the right.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 25,000 videos in a wide variety of disciplines.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology. Use this database for articles on psycho-social rehabilitation, deaf cultural identity, stereotypical attitudes towards the deaf, health care psychology etc.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
Sign Language Studies
Sign Language Studies is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering basic and applied research relating to sign languages used throughout the world.It covers linguistic, cultural, and educational topics.
Sign Language & Linguistics
Discussions of sign languages in the larger context of natural language, cross-linguistically & cross-modally. Investigates knowledge of grammar based on the study of SL & addresses the effect of modality (signed vs. spoken) on the structure of grammar.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities