Website Evaluation Tutorial
- Website Evaluation TutorialIf you're starting a research assignment and want to do a quick review on how to evaluate websites. Check out our online website evaluation tutorial.
Website Domain Types
.com – Commercial websites
- Generally created by a business or corporation and is for profit.
- Provides information on products or is motivated by sales.
.edu – Educational websites
- Created by a college, university or grade school.
- Information is provided for academic purposes.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by an educational organization.
.gov – Government websites
- Created by local, state, and national goverments.
- Information is provided for the public.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by a government organization.
.org – Organization website
- Used by both non-profit organizations, for profit corporations and individuals.
- Organization websites can be owned by a corporation and be sales motivated, owned by an individual or owned by a non-profit organization that provides information supporting a specific cause or viewpoint.
- Carefully evaluate non-profit organizations as they can have a particular viewpoint on an issue, so the information they provide can be biased or slanted in order to support their viewpoint.
Google Advanced Search
Quick Tip: If you are searching Google for a website with a specific domain, such as a .gov or .edu, when you type in your search add "site:" and the domain type at the end of your search term. For example, if you wanted to find government websites on gun control, type in "gun control site:.gov". Or if you wanted to specifically search for non-profit websites that had information on wildlife, type in "wildlife site:.org".
- Google Advanced SearchUse to specify website domain when searching, such as .gov sites for government information.
Deaf Culture
Recommended Websites
- Deaf Access ProgramBy Department of Social Services, the Deaf Access Program (DAP) was created in 1980 to ensure that California’s public programs are adapted to meet the communication needs of deaf and hard of hearing children, adults, and families so they may receive the public benefits and services to which they are entitled and achieve economic independence to fully participate in mainstream society.
- Communication for Persons Who Are Deaf or Hard of HearingWebpage by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services about effective communication with the Deaf, laws and their civil rights.
- ADA.govADA.gov consists of laws and regulations, design standards and technical requirements for new construction and alterations, and lawsuits against entities that discriminate or donot adhere to ADA. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in several areas, including employment, transportation, public accommodations, communications and access to state and local government' programs and services.
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) is one of the institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH).NIDCD conduct and support biomedical and behavioral research and research training in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.
- American Deaf Culture (Gallaudet University)Gallaudet University is The world's only Interpretation B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. program in an American Sign Language-immersive environment. The link contains a wealth of information about Deaf Culture, early intervention, educational resources, legislation and policy, equipment, mental health and social emotional development and multicultural considerations for the Deaf.
Evaluating Websites for Use for Research Assignments
Introducing SIFT
SIFT is an easy-to-use four-step method of fact-checking information you find anywhere. Digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield has created a few short videos to explain how to best use SIFT.
Step 1: Stop!
Before you use a source. ask yourself:
Who's responsible for the information?
Who created and disseminated it? And do you recognize the source?
If so, do you trust it? If the answer is no or you're unsure, consider some of the following:
Step 2: Investigate the Source
What do others have to say about the source? (Hint: Try scanning the Wikipedia article on the source, if there is one) Look for surprises, particularly those that deviate from your initial impression! Take a look at the video (2:45) that covers how to fact-check efficiently and effectively by "reading vertically"
Step 3: Find Better Coverage
If you're unsure about a source especially if it is making a claim that you want to use or share, investigate if other sources that you trust more are also making the claim. The following video (4:10) covers strategies for finding better coverage of a claim:
Step 4: Trace Claims, Quotes and media to the Original Context
Context is critical when it comes to information claims. And information changes as it gets passed along and shared, sometimes unintentionally, sometimes deliberately. So, consider tracing the claim back to its original source and context. Take a look at the following video (1:33) that covers tips for "going upstream" and finding the original context: