Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Wide variety of resources in American history. Includes some primary source material.
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Suggested Key Words
- racial bias
- racial prejudice
- racial discrimination
Subject Journal Titles
Ethnic & Racial Studies
Original articles and critical comments on any aspect of race, ethnicity, nationalism and related topics, book reviews and lists of recently published books.
Harvard Journal on Racial & Ethnic Justice
Peer reviewed articles on the subjects of ethnic & cultural studies; law enforcement & intelligence; and discrimination.
Race & Class
Articles and book reviews for readers interested in the sociological issues of race and the third world.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities