Quick tips!
- Use quotation marks to group phrases = "gold rush"
- The most common wildcard/truncation symbols are * and ? = wom*n will find woman, women, and womyn
- Most databases use AND as a default connector (Boolean) between your keywords ="binge drinking" college will look for both keywords
- Capitalize Boolean terms = peanut butter AND honey
- Use parentheses to group complicated search requests = "peanut butter" AND (jelly OR honey)
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowSeries of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
- Food Science Source This link opens in a new windowCovers information relevant to the food industry including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also available.
- Articles & Database A-Z ListList of all the library databases containing articles on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7, just login with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.