Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListOur complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Find all the articles
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1
Recommended Databases
- Food Science Source This link opens in a new windowCovers information relevant to the food industry including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
Subject Journal Titles
- International Journal of Food Sciences & NutritionAims to integrate food science with nutrition.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information