This is a JavaScript menu. Please enable scripts in your browser. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Wignall Museum of Contemporary Art: These Creatures: Find Books

curated by Cindy Rehm

Library Online eBooks

Book Image

stack of books

Why Use Books and eBooks?

Books are a great place to start your research because:

  • They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
  • They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
  • They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.

How to Find Print and Electronic Books

Click to login using MyChaffey credentials.

Type in search term(s) and press the Search button. 

Image of a search in eBook Collection

Hint: Scan the titles/subjects listed for ebooks in your results to more quickly locate items more relevant to your topic.

Results of a search in eBook Collection

Tips: 

  • The Subjects area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
  • Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections. 
  • Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.

Another useful tool for scanning for relevant information is the Search this eBook tool accessible via the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the full-text page. Type in a word or phrase, and page(s) containing those term(s) will appear in the upper portion of the web page.

Search Within tool in eBook Collection

To move between pages of a book, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing and citing  in the Tools area to the right. 

Note: This is our one database that limits downloading, printing, emailing, & saving to 60 pages per session.

Want to see if we have a book on your topic? Or, need to check if we have a textbook on reserve at one of our Libraries? Search here:

Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!

Locating Print Books- Click on the title or image of a book in the results page to view more information. Scroll down on this next page to view information including the LocationCall Number, and Status.  

Example of a print book record in the Library Catalog

  • Location-Doublecheck location, especially for Reserve items, as we have Reserve collections at Chino, Fontana and Rancho. Reserve items can be used and returned only at item's home location.
  • Status-If status listed is Available, book should be on our shelves. If other status such as Checked Out or Lost listed, item may not be available right away.
  • Call Number- A book's/item's address in our Libraries. Needed to find on the shelf at Rancho site or to request from the front desk if on Reserve at any of our sites.

 Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.

E-books- No call number listed and status shows Available Online  Then, item is an e-book! Make a note of Title/Author, then search in the following resource, after logging in with your MyChaffey credentials.

Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
 Powered by Springshare • LibApps LoginFeedbackBI SurveyLibrary Activities