Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Modern Context-Research Resources
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics. Recommended search terms: museum studies, museums-social aspects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Recommended search terms: museums-social aspects. Also try museums and keywords associated with a specific lens such as religion, gender, ethnicity/culture, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years.Recommended search terms: museums-social aspects. Also try museums and keywords associated with a specific lens such as religion, gender, ethnicity/culture, etc.
Los Angeles Times
Full text of Los Angeles Times from 1985-present. Good for more information on history, background and context of museum visited and current location of chosen artwork.
Art Collections in Museums
Interpreting Objects and Collections by
Publication Date: 1994-11-21
Contains essays on the aspects of collection and interpretation. See Chapter 33 for the article recommended by your instructor: Duncan, Carol, "Art Museums and the Ritual of Citizenship".
Artifacts and Allegiances by
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
What can we learn about nationalism by looking at a country's cultural institutions? How do the history and culture of particular cities help explain how museums represent diversity? Artifacts and Allegiances takes us around the world to tell the compelling story of how museums today are making sense of immigration and globalization. Based on firsthand conversations with museum directors, curators, and policymakers; descriptions of current and future exhibitions; and inside stories about the famous paintings and iconic objects that define collections across the globe, this work provides a close-up view of how different kinds of institutions balance nationalism and cosmopolitanism. By comparing museums in Europe, the United States, Asia, and the Middle East, Peggy Levitt offers a fresh perspective on the role of the museum in shaping citizens. Taken together, these accounts tell the fascinating story of a sea change underway in the museum world at large.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities