Museum-Specific Links
- Getty-Collections SearchIncludes images and additional information about artwork in Getty Collections. Good source for examining additional artworks by a specific artist, medium, country, etc.
- Getty Provenance DatabasesTrack the provenance (origin) of paintings, from 1500-1990. Click on "Public Collections" and type in the institution (Getty, Norton Simon, or Huntington) along with any additional information, to find your selected work.
- Huntington Library-European CollectionsGateway to information about European art collections at the Huntington Library.
- Norton Simon-Search the CollectionIncludes images and additional information about artwork in Norton Simon Collections. Good source for examining additional artworks by a specific artist, medium, country, etc.
Selected Resources
The Dictionary of Art by Call Number: R 703 D55 (Rancho)ISBN: 9780195170689Publication Date: 1996
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryFrom the Metropolitan Museum of Art, a timeline of art browseable by time and by geographical location.
Find Print Books, Chaffey Library
Need more information about an artist, period, culture or country, medium or art movement? Try our local Chaffey Library collection of print books as we have an excellent collection of art history titles! Remember to check that status of the book is available and make a note of the call number, the book's "address" on our shelves. Can't find a given book? Contact us or come see us at one of our service desk and we'll be happy to help.
Original Context-Chaffey Library Resources
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics including artists, history of a particular culture or country, art movements, and others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Google Books Search
Strategies for Finding Relevant Resources
Having trouble finding resources on your chosen artwork or artist? Try the following:
- Search for other works done by the artist.
- Search for similar works and artists from the same period and region.
- Look for information on the original site and location of the work (like a church or city).
- Search for information on the original patrons and audiences for the work.
- Search for background on the region where the artwork created such as beliefs, ways of life or customs, other social/political characteristics.
Still struggling to locate relevant resources? Contact a librarian and we'll be happy to help!