Research with Library Resources (Fashion)

The make-take-waste paradigm of fast fashion explains much of the producer and consumer behavior patterns towards fast fashion. The evolution from a two-season fashion calendar to fast fashion, characterized by rapid product cycles from retailers and impulse buying by consumers, presents new challenges to the environment, workplace and labour practices. This book provides a comprehensive overview of new insights into consumer behaviour mechanisms in order to shift practices toward sustainable fashion and to minimize the negative impacts of fast fashion on the environment and society. Concepts and techniques are presented that could overcome the formidable economic drivers of fast fashion and lead toward a future of sustainable fashion. While the need for change in the fashion industry post-Rana Plaza could not be more obvious, alternative and more sustainable consumption models have been under-investigated. The paucity of such research extends to highly consumptive consumer behaviours regarding fast fashion (i.e. impulse buying and throwaways) and the related impediments these behaviours pose for sustainable fashion. Written by leading researchers in the field of sustainable fashion and supported by the Textile Institute, this book evaluates fashion trends, what factors have led to new trends and how the factors supporting fast fashion differ from those of the past. It explores the economic drivers of fast fashion and what social, environmental and political factors should be maintained, and business approaches adopted, in order for fast fashion to be a sustainable model. In particular, it provides consumer behaviour concepts that can be utilized at the retail level to support sustainable fashion.

The book aims to analyze the logics and instruments by which fashion companies create collections, taking into account the variety of companies'characteristics and business models. The collection development process is a critical activity for fashion, that must continuously renew its products, and is subject to increasingly strict time, cost, and quality goals. A central theme is the complexity of managing the collection development process, due to the number of operations that must be carried out and the variety of actors involved. There must also be interaction between the creative and managerial competences present in the company. For all of these reasons, fashion collection development requires extraordinary coordination and integration abilities.This book is the product of the work and efforts of various authors, from both the academic and professional worlds. It also features numerous examples from the fashion industry.

Focusing on fashion, apparel and retail merchandising, this book starts with an Introduction to the apparel business, then leads on to an examination of marketing, fashion, apparel, and retail merchandising, including costing and procedures and documentation needed for export.This book will be invaluable for all textile and fashion students on both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. It outlines the guideline and basics to the students about the activities of marketing and merchandising in apparel industry.

Marketing and branding inform many of the strategic and creative decisions involved in fashion design and product development. Marketing is a vital component of the industry and an understanding of its importance and role is essential for those planning a career in fashion. Marketing Fashion, Second Edition is a practical guide to the fundamental principles of marketing and branding, from creating a customer profile to developing a brand identity. The book explains key theoretical concepts and illustrates how they are applied within the global fashion and retail industry, from haute couture to the mass market. All tools in the modern marketer's kit are discussed, from attending fashion fairs to viral marketing and online strategies. Using examples and case studies drawn from a broad range of fashion, textile, and retail businesses, students are led through the marketing process from initial consumer and market research to the creation of exciting marketing and branding campaigns. The book is designed to appeal to students at degree or foundation level as well as those contemplating a career within the fashion industry.

In an age of self-service stores, saturated markets and ever more demanding customers, the careful and science-driven design of the point of sale has become a crucial success factor for both retailers and service businesses. In this book, the interested reader will find a variety of hands-on suggestions on how to optimize the design of retail stores and service environments to increase customer satisfaction and sales. While the focus is on the practical applicability of the concepts discussed, the book is nevertheless firmly grounded in consumer and psychological research. In this respect it is uniquely positioned vis'-'-vis books written by artists, architects and interior designers which lack a solid research foundation and academic journals articles, which are often inaccessible to the educated yet non-specialized reader. In writing this book, the author draws on both the recent research literature and his own experience as a marketing consultant and consumer researcher. The intended audiences are marketing managers, small business owners and MBA students. Topics covered in the book include: goals and relevance of store design; design tips derived from environmental psychology; cognitive and affective approaches to store design and visual merchandising; use of ambient factors such as music, colors and scents; creation of emotional experiences and theming.

Winner of the 2019 John Collier Jr Award Street style blogging has experienced a meteoric rise in popularity over the last decade. Amateur photographers, often with no formal training in fashion, have become critical arbiters of taste and trends, influencing the representations that appear in magazines and on runways, and putting new cities on the fashion world map. This cutting-edge book documents the evolution of street style photography, from the fieldwork photos of early anthropology to the glamorized snapshots that appear on blogs today, and explores the structural shifts in the global fashion industry that street style has helped bring about.Chronicling author and anthropologist Brent Luvaas'experience over three years of blogging through vivid street imagery and rich ethnographic detail, this book turns the lens of street style photography back onto anthropology itself, arguing that the phenomenon is a powerful mode of amateur ethnography. Bloggers blur the distinction between professional and amateur, insider and outsider, self and brand. This book documents that blur from the ground level-from the streets of Philadelphia to the sidewalks of New York Fashion Week.Street Style is an essential read for students and scholars of fashion, anthropology, sociology, media and cultural studies, and fans of street style photography alike.

Numerous tastemakers exist in and between fashion production and consumption, from designers and stylists to trend forecasters, buyers, and journalists. How and why are each of these players bound up in the creation and dispersion of trends? In what ways are consumers'relations to trends constructed by these individuals and organizations? This book explores the social significance of trends in the global fashion industry through interviews with these'fashion intermediaries', offering new insights into their influential roles in the setting and shaping of trends. The Trendmakers contains exclusive interviews with financial analysts, creative directors from high street stores like H&M to designer brands such as Erdem, trend forecasters at WGSN, buyers from Harvey Nichols, and major fashion names like The Telegraph fashion critic Hilary Alexander. In contrast to existing research, Lantz offers an international understanding of the trend landscape, engaging with industry professionals from fashion capitals like London, Paris, and New York, as well as BRIC countries and the new, emerging fashion nations. The fashion media may have declared that'trends are dead'in the light of digital dissemination, but Lantz argues that trends still not only serve as a significant organizing principle for the fashion industry as a whole but also as a source for legitimacy. Engaging with classic fashion thinkers like Veblen, Simmel, and Bourdieu, as well as contemporary scholars like Entwistle and Steele, this book considers trends from an economic and cultural perspective to add to our knowledge of the complexities of the business of fashion.

A great introduction for retail students, this book offers a user-friendly reference guide to all aspects of visual merchandising and covers both window dressing and in-store areas. Using examples from a range of shops, from fashion emporia to small outlets, the book offers practical advice on the subject, supported by hints and tips from established visual merchandisers. It reveals the secrets of their toolkit and information on the use of mannequins, the latest technology, and how to construct and source props, and explains the psychology behind shopping and buyer behavior. This new edition contains two new case studies, updated images, and new material on digital and interactive visual merchandising. Presented through color photographs, diagrams of floor layouts, and store case studies, and including invaluable information such as a glossary of terms used in the industry,Visual Merchandising is an essential handbook for anyone working in and learning about this exciting area.