Research Tutorials
The following research tutorials can prepare you for your research projects. At the end of each tutorial, you will get a copy of your responses via the email you provide. You can forward the individual email to your instructor as a form of verification for completing each tutorial.
Picking a Topic
In this tutorial, you will learn how to pick a topic for your research projects. Still looking for a topic? Try the Opposing Viewpoints database to browse topics and get ideas. Also, you may want to watch the Developing a Research Topic a Topic video to help you develop a topic that is right for your assignment.
Using Library Databases
Learn how to navigate the library databases and how to narrow down your results. The Library databases are accessible 24/7 from any device with an internet connection and contain many types of sources such as articles, ebooks, images, and videos. Use the library database guide to figure out which databases to use.
Finding and Evaluating Scholarly Sources
Looking for scholarly sources? This tutorial will help you with evaluating scholarly articles and learn the difference between scholarly and popular sources. Watch the Research Using Chaffey Databases video to learn about evaluating the sources in library databases.
Website Evaluation
Are you considering using a website for a research assignment? Not all websites are appropriate for academic research. This tutorial will help you to examine them carefully in order to determine if the information is accurate, credible, and supports your research assignment.
Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism
Learn the importance of citing sources and how to avoid plagiarism. Plagiarism is a big deal in colleges and universities. But how do you avoid plagiarism? Watch the How to Avoid Plagiarism video to learn more. Also, check out the Citation Help guide and learn how to cite in different citation formats.