Country Specific Information
- GlobalEDGE: Your source for global business knowledgeIncludes trade statistics, risk factors and overviews as well as links to more information in the country profiles including BBC News.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and DevelopmentUse the Countries link in top navigation for information by country or the Topics link for information by topics such as the environment.
- The World Factbook, Central Intelligence AgencyProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Transparency InternationalCorruption rankings and news by country.
- International Monetary Fund, Country InformationIMF reports and publications arranged by country.
- United NationsScan the Resources and Service section in lower right of homepage for links to UN Library, databases, documents and other research information resources.
Recommended Databases
Background Information
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics including demographic groups (age, ethnicity, gender, etc.) and history on current issues such as human trafficking and Yemen.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowSeries of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue including Brexit.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text including the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (2017) and Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2014).
- Country Watch This link opens in a new windowProvides country-specific information on each of the countries of the world in the areas of geography, news, politics, economics and culture.
Current Information
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes magazine and academic journal articles in the field of politics and government, many relevant to the history field.
- Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
