This is a JavaScript menu. Please enable scripts in your browser. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contemporary Art History, 1940-present: Chicago

 

Chicago Nuts & Bolts

What is Chicago Manual of Style?

The Chicago Manual of Style sets the standard for scholarly publishing in the Humanities. Chicago offers two citation formats, the author-date reference format and the standard bibliographic format, each of which provides conventions for organizing footnotes or endnotes, as well as bibliographic citations.

Why is it Important to Cite Your Sources for Your Research Papers?

Citing sources and creating a Bibliography/Works Cited List:

  • ​​​​Gives credit to the author(s)
  • Illustrates your ability to locate & evaluate appropriate sources
  • Provides evidence for the arguments and conclusions in your paper
  • Prevents plagarism and copyright infringement

Citation Styles

What is MLA Style?  

MLA (Modern Language Association) style specifies guidelines for formatting papers. MLA style also provides a system for referencing sources through parenthetical citation in essays and Works Cited pages. Most importantly, the use of MLA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.

What is APA Style?  

APA format is the official style of the American Psychological Association (APA) and is commonly used to cite sources in psychology, education, and the social sciences. Most importantly, the use of APA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.

What is Chicago Style?

The Chicago Manual of Style sets the standard for scholarly publishing in the Humanities. Chicago offers two citation formats, the author-date reference format and the standard bibliographic format, each of which provides conventions for organizing footnotes or endnotes, as well as bibliographic citations. Most importantly, the use of Chicago style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.

Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Sources

Bainbridge State College. "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It." YouTube. YouTube, 5 Jan. 2010. Web. 19 Oct. 2014.

A transcript is in process for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.

Citations Galore!

Photo of Oprah Winfrey exclaiming, "You get a citation and you get a citation!".

https://blog.writersdomain.net/2014/06/17/this-aint-your-high-school-english-class-why-plagiarism-is-a-big-deal/

Bibliography Generators on the Web!

What Is Plagiarism?

What is Plagiarism? pla·gia·rism (noun)

The practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.
Synonyms - copying, infringement of copyright, piracy, theft, stealing. Informal - cribbing "accusations of plagiarism". Source: Google Definition

Plagiarism can be intentional or unintentional

Consequences of Plagiarism Here at Chaffey

The School Dean may impose the following sanctions after meeting with the student:

  • verbal warning or written reprimand
  • failing grade for an assignment
  • failing grade in the course
  • removal from class
  • restitution
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
 Powered by Springshare • LibApps LoginFeedbackBI SurveyLibrary Activities