Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Scholarly & Popular Sources video
Carnegie Vincent Library. "Scholarly and Popular Sources." YouTube. YouTube, 22 Mar. 2013. Web. 22 Oct. 2014.
A transcript is in the process of being created for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at email@example.com.
Recommended Article Databases for SOC 10
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years.
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
American Journal of Sociology
Features articles, review articles and substantial numbers of book reviews in all areas of sociology.
American Sociological Review
The official flagship journal of the American Sociological Association (ASA). The American Sociological Association publishes 14 scholarly journals, including the American Sociological Review, the top ranked journal in sociology. Original works of interest to all areas of sociology in general.
Presents papers and comments on topics of professional and disciplinary concern to sociologists, focusing on intellectual, practical and ethical issues affecting the work, careers and perspectives of sociologists.
Articles on a wide range of sociological topics, short notes on sociological research and critical comments on articles previously published in the `Review.'
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities