Research Guides: Earth Sciences & Geology: Find Articles

Searching Library Databases

Articles & Database A-Z List
List of all the library databases containing articles on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7, just login with your MyChaffey information.
How to use Library Databases at Chaffey College
Videos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.

Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to science-oriented content including encyclopedias, reference books and periodicals.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 70 magazines and journals in the biological and medical sciences including Nature magazine.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Covers life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Articles with full-text access indicated with an open lock icon.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to archives and current issue of Scientific American.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
	Scholarly Articles	Popular Articles
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies	Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Purpose	In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research	Provide general information for the public
Author	Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials	Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
Audience	Scholars, researchers and students	General public
Language	Specialized terminology	General vocabulary
Images	Few photos & ads	More photos & ads
Accountability	Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field	Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
References	Required	Generally not listed

Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?

Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information