Alcohol use disorder (AUD) is defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as "a problematic pattern of alcohol use leading to clinically significant impairment or distress," and is diagnosed as mild, moderate, or severe based on the number of symptoms, out of a possible 11, in the past 12 months.
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Alcohol Use Disorder National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Alcohol Use Disorder: From Risk to Diagnosis to Recovery. 1/6/2025. https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/health-professionals-communities/core-resource-on-alcohol/alcohol-use-disorder-risk-diagnosis-recovery#pub-toc0
Browse Print Books and eBooks
To access the resources provided via the Chaffey College Library's databases, enter your MyChaffey Portal login information, when prompted.
Articles, Databases and Videos
- Alcoholism & Drug Abuse WeeklyAn independent newsletter aimed at meeting the information needs of all alcoholism and drug abuse professionals; national trends and developments in funding, policy, prevention, treatment and research in alcohol and drug abuse.
- Alcoholism Treatment QuarterlyAlcoholism; Mental Health Services
- Alcohol & AlcoholismOn general topic of alcoholism.. Published bi monthly.
- American Journal of Drug & Alcohol AbuseA medically oriented forum for interchange of ideas between preclinical, clinical and social modalities involved in the study and treatment of drug abuse and alcoholism.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an index of magazines and journals articles in the medical disciplines. Many of the articles are available full-text.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990, some with full text.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowA source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Youtube
- Alcohol Use: What Does It Mean To Be Addicted To Alcohol? | Stanford Stanford Center for Health Education: Dr. Anna Lembke answers some of the most common questions about alcohol use. She explains what it means to be addicted to alcohol, and how quantity, frequency, age, and gender influence the likelihood of addiction and harmful health outcomes.
Films on Demand
- Alcoholism as a Social Construction: Raymond Madsen The historical perspective of Alcoholics Anonymous including its roots in a spiritual movement and the success rates associated with this treatment are discussed. Jellinek’s contribution and the origins of the “disease” model are traced as well as alternative treatment methods (RR, SOS, Women for Sobriety, Moderation Management).
- Overcoming Alcoholism Alcohol displaces other relationships and becomes inseparable from addicts' identities. Joe now lives with his father and is sober. He discusses his path to recovery and emotional stability. A BBC Production.
Websites
- Centers for Disease Control: Alcohol Use and Your HealthExcessive alcohol use is a term used to describe four ways that people drink alcohol that can negatively impact health. Excessive drinking can also be deadly. Binge drinking—Four or more drinks for women, or five or more drinks for men during an occasion. Heavy drinking—Eight or more drinks for women, or 15 or more drinks for men during a week. Underage drinking—any alcohol use by people younger than 21. Drinking while pregnant—any alcohol use during pregnancy.
- National Institute of Health on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholismniaaa.nih.gov Understanding Alcohol Use Disorder: Alcohol use disorder (AUD) is a medical condition characterized by an impaired ability to stop or control alcohol use despite adverse social, occupational, or health consequences. It encompasses the conditions that some people refer to as alcohol abuse, alcohol dependence, alcohol addiction, and the colloquial term, alcoholism.