Tobacco Use Disorder (TUD) is defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as a maladaptive pattern of nicotine use, leading to clinically significant impairment or distress, as manifested by seven criteria, some of which occurring at the same time within a 12 month period: tolerance, withdrawal, taken in larger amounts, unsuccessful in controlling use, persistent use despite negative health or mental outcomes, large amounts of time taken up by obtaining nicotine.
- DSM Criteria for Tobacco Use Disorder and Tobacco Withdrawal Baker TB, Breslau N, Covey L, Shiffman S. DSM criteria for tobacco use disorder and tobacco withdrawal: a critique and proposed revisions for DSM-5. Addiction. 2012 Feb;107(2):263-75. doi: 10.1111/j.1360-0443.2011.03657.x. PMID: 21919989; PMCID: PMC3246568.
Browse Print Books and eBooks
To access the resources provided via the Chaffey College Library's databases, enter your MyChaffey Portal login information, when prompted.
Articles, Databases and Videos
Tobacco
- Tobacco Regulatory SciencePresenting research relevant to the regulation of tobacco products with a broad range of research domains including chemistry, biology, behavior, community and analytic modeling.
- Tobacco Induced DiseasesProvides information about tobacco induced diseases and their prevention with the aim to increase the scientific basis for biological effects of tobacco smoke and to describe the distribution of tobacco diseases throughout the world.
- Tobacco ControlTobacco Control is an international peer review journal covering the nature and consequences of tobacco use worldwide; tobacco's effects on population health, the economy, the environment, and society; efforts to prevent and control the global tobacco epidemic through population level education and policy changes; the ethical dimensions of tobacco control policies; and the activities of the tobacco industry and its allies.
- Nicotine & Tobacco ResearchNicotine & Tobacco Research is one of the world's few peer-reviewed journals devoted exclusively to the study of nicotine and tobacco. It aims to provide a forum for empirical findings, critical reviews, and conceptual papers on the many aspects of nicotine and tobacco, including research from the biobehavioral, neurobiological, molecular biologic, epidemiological, prevention, and treatment arenas.
Vaping
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an index of magazines and journals articles in the medical disciplines. Many of the articles are available full-text.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990, some with full text.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowA source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Websites
World Health Organization Reports on Tobacco Industry
- WHO: World No Tobacco Day 2023: grow food, not tobaccoA record 349 million people are facing acute food insecurity (1, 2)
Meanwhile, tobacco is grown in over 124 countries, taking up 3.2 million hectares of fertile land that could be used to grow food. These resources are diverted to support the production of a crop that kills over 8 million people every year, erodes the economy and damages the environment - WHO report on the global tobacco epidemic, 2023: protect people from tobacco smokeIt has been 20 years since the adoption of the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC) and 15 years since the introduction of MPOWER, the technical package designed to help countries implement the Convention. The steadfast progress demonstrated by countries over these years is a testament to what can be achieved when a clear global health vision is combined with committed global partnership.
- Hooking the next generation: how the tobacco industry captures young customers.History is repeating, as the tobacco industry tries to sell the same nicotine to our children in different packaging. These industries are actively targeting schools, children and young people with new products that are essentially a candy-flavoured trap. How can they talk about harm reduction when they are marketing these dangerous, highly addictive products to children?
- WHO Global Report on Trends in Prevalence of Tobacco Use 2000–2030ThisWHO global report on trends in prevalence of tobacco use 2000–2030is a useful companion to the WHO report on the global tobacco epidemic,which tracks the global adoption of tobacco control measures and interventionsdesigned to reduce the use of tobacco. Together these reports allow us to bothmonitor progressevery two yearsand to identify gaps, challenges and hinderances.