Behavioral addictions are referred to as non-substance addictions, and don't involve addiction to drugs or substances, but addiction to behaviors.
DSM-5: Gambling is the only behavior recognized by the American Psychiatric Association, and included in the DSM-5 with diagnostic criteria. Other behavioral addictions such as shopping, food, social media, or other non-substance addiction behaviors are currently not classified in the DSM.
- DSM-5 includes internet gaming disorder (IGD) as a behavioral addiction needing further study.
- “Increasing Acceptance of Behavioral Addictions as Real.” Psychology Today, Gold, Mark. “Increasing Acceptance of Behavioral Addictions as Real.” Psychology Today, June 12, 2024, https://www.psychologytoday.com/ https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/addiction-outlook/202406/increasing-acceptance-of-behavioral-addictions-as-real
Browse Print Books and eBooks
To access the resources provided via the Chaffey College Library's databases, enter your MyChaffey Portal login information, when prompted.
Articles, Databases and Videos
- Behavioral MedicineArticles, commentary and review articles focusing on various aspects of behavioral and psychosocial practices impacts on health.
- Journal of Gambling StudiesCovers all aspects of gambling behavior, both controlled and pathological , as well as a variety of problems attendant to or resultant from gambling behavior, including alcoholism, suicide, crime, and a number of other mental health problems.
- Journal of Behavioral AddictionsFocuses on behavioral addictions, including gambling, sex, video games and others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an index of magazines and journals articles in the medical disciplines. Many of the articles are available full-text.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990, some with full text.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowA source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
- Psychology & Behavorial Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is also indexed in PsycINFO.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Websites
- Increasing Acceptance of Behavioral Addictions as RealFrom Psychology Today, June 12, 2024. Discusses the addition of gambling and internet addictions to DSM-5. The author, Mark S. Gold, M.D., is a pioneering researcher, professor, and chairman of psychiatry at Yale, the University of Florida, and Washington University in St Louis. His theories have led to new understanding and treatments for opioid use disorders, cocaine use disorders, overeating, smoking, and depression.
- NLM: Behavioral Addiction versus Substance Addiction: Correspondence of Psychiatric and Psychological ViewsInternational Journal of Preventive Medicine. 2012 Apr;3(4):290–294. Behavioral science experts believe that all entities capable of stimulating a person can be addictive; and whenever a habit changes into an obligation, it can be considered as an addiction. Researchers also believe that there are a number of similarities as well as some differences between drug addiction and behavioral addiction diagnostic symptoms. The purpose of this study is to consider different approaches in this field.
- NLM: Introduction to Behavioral AddictionsAmerican Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse. 2010 Sep;36(5):233–241.
Introduction to behavioral addictions and the psychology underlying them. Several behaviors, besides psychoactive substance ingestion, produce short-term reward that may engender persistent behavior despite knowledge of adverse consequences, i.e., diminished control over the behavior. These disorders have historically been conceptualized in several ways. One view posits these disorders as lying along an impulsive-compulsive spectrum, with some classified as impulse control disorders. An alternate, but not mutually exclusive, conceptualization considers the disorders as non-substance or “behavioral” addictions. - Six steps for addressing behavioral addictions in clinical workFrom the American Counseling Association: six steps in working with clients and behavioral addictions.
- American Addiction Centers - Behavioral AddictionsInformation, links, definitions and statistics for behaviorial addictions such as gambling, food, shopping, risky behaviors and video gaming. Descriptions of each behavior with links to sources.
- American Addiction Centers: Gambling Addiction: Signs, Symptoms, and Treatment OptionsGambling can be a fun, legal form of entertainment, but when the highs and lows of winning and losing become addictive, gaming and betting can take a toll on gamblers and their families. Compulsive gamblers can lose and win thousands of dollars within a matter of days, or even hours, because they are unable to stop.
- American Addiction Centers - Behavioral AddictionsInformation, links, definitions and statistics for behaviorial addictions such as gambling, food, shopping, risky behaviors and video gaming. Descriptions of each behavior with links to sources.