Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Books about Using Data & Statistics
Just Plain Data Analysis by Just Plain Data Analysis teaches students statistical literacy skills that they can use to evaluate and construct arguments about public affairs issues grounded in numerical evidence. The book addresses skills that are often not taught in introductory social science research methods courses and that are often covered sketchily in the research methods textbooks: where to find commonly used measures of political and social conditions; how to assess the reliability and validity of specific indicators; how to present data efficiently in charts and tables; how to avoid common misinterpretations and misrepresentations of data; and how to evaluate causal arguments based on numerical data. With a new chapter on statistical fallacies and updates throughout the text, the new edition teaches students how to find, interpret, and present commonly used social indicators in an even clearer and more practical way.
Publication Date: 2012
Using Statistics: A Gentle Introduction by Guides readers through the field of statistics from the descriptive statistics to multidimensional approaches. This book includes illustrative examples that guide readers through: how to answer various types of research question; how to use different forms of analysis; and, the strengths and weaknesses of particular methods.
Publication Date: 2007
Books Containing Statistics
Pocket World in Figures 2018 by Contains quick facts on population, geography, business, economics, finance, society and culture.
Publication Date: 2018
Demographics of the U. S. by Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections provides a necessary perspective, highlighting the most important trends of the 21st century¿trends everyone should be tracking. Demographics of the U.S. explains the increasingly complex, often confusing, and rapidly changing nation we live in today. It makes sense of our recent past and shines a light on our future. The reference is divided into 11 chapters, organized alphabetically: Attitudes, Education, Health, Housing, Income, Labor Force, Living Arrangements, Population, Spending, Time Use, and Wealth.
Publication Date: 2017
The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2018 by The 150th Anniversary special edition of the best-selling reference book of all time! Larger hardcover format of this essential resource offers larger type sizes and more user-friendly access to thousands of facts. The World Almanac® and Book of Facts is America''s top-selling reference book of all time, with more than 82 million copies sold. Since 1868, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for all your entertainment, reference, and learning needs. The 150th anniversary edition celebrates its illustrious history while keeping an eye on the future. Praised as a "treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information" by The Wall Street Journal, The World Almanac and Book of Facts will answer all of your trivia needs--from history and sports to geography, pop culture, and much more. Features include: 150 Years of The World Almanac: A special feature celebrating The World Almanac''s historic run includes highlights from its distinguished past and some old-fashioned "facts," illustrating how its defining mission has changed with the times. Historical Anniversaries: The World Almanac''s recurring feature expands to incorporate milestone events and cultural touchstones dating to the book''s founding year, from the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson to the publication of Little Women. World Almanac Editors'' Picks: Greatest Single-Season Performances: In light of Russell Westbrook''s unprecedented 42 regular-season triple-doubles (and the second-ever season triple-double), The World Almanac takes a look back in sports history for athletes'' best single-season runs. Statistical Spotlight: A popular new feature highlights statistics relevant to the biggest stories of the year. These data visualizations provide important context and new perspectives to give readers a fresh angle on important issues. The Obama Presidency: A year after Barack Obama''s second term came to a close, The World Almanac reviews the accomplishments, missteps, and legacy of the 44th president. The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world. Other New Highlights: A brand-new biography of the 45th president and profile of the Trump administration; official 2016 election results; and statistics on criminal incarceration and sentence lengths, health care, overdose deaths, shootings, terrorism, and much more. The Year in Review: The World Almanac takes a look back at 2017 while providing all the information you''ll need in 2018. 2017--Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac list the top stories that held the world''s attention in 2017. 2017--Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring a preview of the upcoming 2018 Winter Olympic Games, complete coverage of the 2017 World Series, new tables of NBA, NHL, and NCAA statistics, and much more. 2017--Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2017, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports. 2017--Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac editors found some of the quirkiest news stories of the year, from the king who secretly worked as an airline pilot for decades to the state that''s auctioning off its governor''s mansion. World Almanac Editors'' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2017, from news and sports to pop culture.
Call Number: R 317 W92 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Why Use Books and eBooks?
Books are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Click to login using MyChaffey credentials.
Type in search term(s) and press the Search button.
Hint: Scan the titles/subjects listed for ebooks in your results to more quickly locate items more relevant to your topic.
- The Subjects area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
- Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections.
- Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.
Another useful tool for scanning for relevant information is the Search this eBook tool accessible via the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the full-text page. Type in a word or phrase, and page(s) containing those term(s) will appear in the upper portion of the web page.
To move between pages of a book, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing and citing in the Tools area to the right.
Note: This is our one database that limits downloading, printing, emailing, & saving to 60 pages per session.
Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!
Locating Print Books- When viewing the search results list, an item's status is shown in green text. An item's location is shown in blue text. In the example below, the book "Paula" is shown as Available at Chaffey College Rancho in the General Collection. The item's call number is 863. A43. Click on the title or image of a book in the results page to view more information.
- Location- Books can be located at our Chino, Fontana or Rancho locations. Reserve items can only be used and returned at item's home location.
- Status- If the status is listed as Available, the item should be on our shelves. Other statuses such as Checked Out or Lost indicate that the item is not available at the moment.
- Call Number- Be sure to note the item's call number, as it is needed to find the item in the library. Reserve items are available at the front desk.
Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.
E-books- To access an e-book, click on the title or the Available Online link. Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities