Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListOur complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
When using the databases below:
Be sure to look for the citation for a statistic! Quite often you can find more statistic at the source, and you can find out a bit more about the organization that collected and presented the information.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
- Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowSeries of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
Data from Peer-reviewed Articles -- Suggested Databases
Authors of peer-reviewed articles will often produce original data sets from their studies, which may help you build evidence for your point of view. Try looking in these places for peer reviewed sources:
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowA source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1