Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Web Resources- Career Information
Searching Library Databases
Key Online Library Resources for GERO-11-Current News
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to an index of magazines and journals articles in the medical disciplines. Many of the articles are available full-text.
Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection
Full-text access to five core practitioner journals in the Nursing field including American Journal of Nursing and Nursing (201X).
Provides indexing for current journals and publications in the nursing and allied health fields. Many articles are available full-text.
Other Key Online Library Resources for GERO-11
Vocational Studies Complete
Provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related magazines and journals. Useful for finding career information.
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Gerontology Web Resources-Professional Organizations
National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (n4a)
Umbrella organization advocating to ensure that needed resources and support services are available to older Americans.
AARP is a membership organization leading positive social change and delivering value to people age 50 and over through information, advocacy and service.
Retirement-National Center for Policy Analysis
The NCPA is a nonprofit think tank tackling the nation's most difficult public policy problems in the areas of health care, retirement, taxes, and environment.
Gerontological Society of America (GSA)
Multidisciplinary society for professionals in the field of aging. Focuses on promoting the scientific study of aging.
American Society on Aging
Enhancing the skills and knowledge of those working with older adults and their families
National Council on Aging
The National Council on Aging (NCOA) is a nonprofit service and advocacy organization that improves the lives of all older adults and community organizations
Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE)
The objectives are to foster research, instructional, and service programs to enhance the capacities of institutions of higher education in the field of aging.
California Council on Gerontology & Geriatrics (CCGG)
The California Council on Gerontology and Geriatrics (CCGG) is a statewide nonprofit leadership organization that promotes the quality of life of California’s diverse aging population by informing and integrating educational programs, work force development and public policy.
Subject Journal Titles
A bimonthly journal published by the Gerontological Society of America that provides a multidisciplinary perspective on human aging through the publication of research and analysis in gerontology, including social policy, program development, and service delivery. Full-text: 1961-present.
Journal devoted to bringing together the most useful and current knowledge about a specific topic in the field of aging, with emphasis on practice, research and policy selected through peer review. Full-text: 1990-Present.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities