MLA Nuts & Bolts
MLA Handbook 9th Edition
"MLA Handbook 9th Edition Simplified: Concise Guide to the MLA 9th Edition Handbook" is specifically designed for students and professional writers to quickly learn updated MLA Style in a convenient and easy way. With this guide, you will be able to format your paper according to the MLA style right away thanks to its easy-to-navigate structure and step-by-step guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format. MLA Handbook Ninth Edition Simplified offers general guidelines and multiple examples that allow writers: -to cite any type of work; -to format title pages, running head, headings, lists, etc.; -to learn more about in-text citations, quoting, paraphrasing; -to create Works Cited list in MLA format; -to use footnotes and endnotes; -to format tables, figures, and examples, etc. Includes MLA-formatted Sample Paper. Learn more about spelling, punctuation, capitalization, italics, abbreviations, numbers, etc.
Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9781471718892Publication Date: 2022-04-23
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide From Owl Purdue University Writing Lab MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Citation Styles
What is MLA Style?
MLA (Modern Language Association) style specifies guidelines for formatting papers. MLA style also provides a system for referencing sources through parenthetical citations in essays and Works Cited pages.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowThe go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources in MLA format. Watch the How to use MLA Handbook video and guide
- MLA Handbook 9th Edition
"MLA Handbook 9th Edition Simplified: Concise Guide to the MLA 9th Edition Handbook" is specifically designed for students and professional writers to quickly learn updated MLA Style in a convenient and easy way. With this guide, you will be able to format your paper according to the MLA style right away thanks to its easy-to-navigate structure and step-by-step guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format. MLA Handbook Ninth Edition Simplified offers general guidelines and multiple examples that allow writers: -to cite any type of work; -to format title pages, running head, headings, lists, etc.; -to learn more about in-text citations, quoting, paraphrasing; -to create Works Cited list in MLA format; -to use footnotes and endnotes; -to format tables, figures, and examples, etc. Includes MLA-formatted Sample Paper. Learn more about spelling, punctuation, capitalization, italics, abbreviations, numbers, etc.
Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9781471718892Publication Date: 2022-04-23
- MLA Style Documentation MLA Style Documentation
- MLA Sample Paper MLA Sample Paper
- Success Centers-Chaffey CollegeNeed more help? Contact the Success Centers for tutors and workshops on citing your sources.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide From Owl Purdue University Writing LabHelps you better understand how to cite sources using MLA Style, including the list of works cited and in-text citations.
What is APA Style?
APA format is the official style of the American Psychological Association (APA) and is commonly used to cite sources in psychology, education, and the social sciences. Most importantly, the use of APA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: 808.06 A51ISBN: 9781433832178Publication Date: 2019-10-011 print copy to check out at Rancho
1 print copy (library use only) at Rancho
1 print copy (library use only) at Chino
1 print copy (library use only) at Fontana
- Chaffey College Success CentersNeed more help? Contact the Success Centers for tutors and workshops on citing sources.
- OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - APA Formatting and Style GuideOverview of APA (American Psychological Association) style and where to find information with different APA resources.
What is Chicago Style?
The Chicago Manual of Style sets the standard for scholarly publishing in the Humanities. Chicago offers two citation formats, the author-date reference format and the standard bibliographic format, each of which provides conventions for organizing footnotes or endnotes, as well as bibliographic citations. Most importantly, the use of the Chicago style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: 808.06 U58 c.2Publication Date: 2017
- Chicago Style Documentation & Sample Paper Chicago Style Documentation & Sample Paper
- Chaffey College Success CentersNeed more help? Contact the Success Centers for tutors and workshops on citing sources.
- OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - Chicago Formatting and Style GuideInformation on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation.
Why is it Important to Cite Your Sources for Your Research Papers?
Citing sources and creating a Bibliography/Works Cited List:
- Gives credit to the author(s)
- Illustrates your ability to locate & evaluate appropriate sources
- Provides evidence for the arguments and conclusions in your paper
- Prevents plagarism and copyright infringement