eBooks
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America byPublication Date: 2014-02-28
Fluid Borders by ISBN: 9780520243682Publication Date: 2005-10-07This innovative study points the way toward a better understanding of the Latino political experience, and how it differs from that of other racial groups, by situating it at the intersection of power, collective identity, and place.
The Oxford Handbook of Identity Development by ISBN: 9780199936564Publication Date: 2014-12-01The Oxford Handbook of Identity Development represents a turning point in the field of identity development research. Various, and disparate, groups of researchers are brought together to debate, extend, and apply Erikson's theory to contemporary problems and empirical issues. The result is a comprehensive and state-of-the-art examination of identity development that pushes the field in provocative new directions.
Journals
- Self and Identity (Academic Journal)
This journal aims to bring together empirical work on self and identity undertaken by researchers across different sub-disciplines within psychology.
Articles
- Racial(ized) Identity, Ethnic Identity, and Afrocentric Values: Conceptual and Methodological Challenges in Understanding African American Identity
This study explored the extent to which Black racial(ized) identity attitudes were related to ethnic identity and Afrocentric cultural values.
Suggested Library Resources
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics. Excellent coverage in the areas of identity studies.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowSeries of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowFind books, ebooks, articles, videos, and more! Watch the How To Use OneSearch video.