From Films On Demand database:
- "Pasos Latinos" Machado-Luces explains the development of the program that displays the history of Latin dance; Angel Hernandez was the host. Music is a common thread through much of Machado-Luces's work.
- The Latino Americans This is the first major documentary series for television to chronicle the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos, who have for the past 500-plus years helped shape what is today the United States and have become, with more than 50 million people, the largest minority group in the U.S. The series chronicles Latinos in the United States from the 1500's to present day. It is a story of people, politics, and culture, intersecting with much that is central to the history of the United States while also going to places where standard U.S. histories do not tend to tread. Latino Americans relies on historical accounts and personal experiences to vividly tell the stories of early settlement, conquest and immigration; of tradition and reinvention; and of anguish and celebration, from the millions of people who come to the U.S. from Mexico, Spain, Puerto Rico, and countries in Central and South America. The programs are driven by the human dramas of individuals' struggles and triumphs, successes and disappointments, featuring interviews with close to 100 Latinos from the worlds of politics, business, military, academia, literature, and pop culture, as well as deeply personal portraits of Latinos who lived through key chapters in American history. LATINO AMERICANS is the story of the gradual construction of a new American identity that connects and empowers millions of people today.
- Mezcla Francisco is a first generation immigrant who grew up in a Spanish speaking household. Because of his appearance, he is perceived to be white, while his Mexican American wife is perceived to be Latina. They discuss the way people perceive them. An HBO Production.
- "Viva La Raza" The Civil Rights and anti-war movements inspired Latinos to fight discrimination. Activists described the potential ramifications of joining the cause. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
- Willie Velasquez: Your Vote is Your Voice Political empowerment for Latinos in the United States has always been difficult. A Mexican-American butcher's son from Texas, Willie Velasquez questioned the lack of Latino representation in his city's government, propelling him into a lifelong battle to gain political equality for Latinos. This documentary examines obstacles Latinos had to overcome to obtain representation, and addresses issues facing Latinos today. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
From Swank Digital Campus database:
After accessing the Swank Digital Campus database, go to the search box on top and enter the titles below. Enjoy the films!
- Stand and Deliver Edward James Olmos stars as Jaime Escalante in this inspirational true story about a teacher and the unmotivated East Los Angeles high school students who he inspires, badgers, threatens and humors into learning the most demanding of all math sciences--calculus. But the accomplishment is so utterly fantastic that the students are accused of cheating. Given a choice to accept the allegation or retake an extremely demanding examination to prove themselves, the students decide to Stand And Deliver.
- El Norte After an unsuccessful attempt by a community of Mayan Indians to improve their living conditions, the Guatemalan army destroys their village. Brother and sister are able to escape and begin their challenging journey towards a new life in the USA.
- The Motorcycle Diaries A stirring portrait of Ernesto “Che” Guevara (Gael Garcia Bernal) as a young man. Rodrigo de la Serna, Mia Maestro. Walter Salles directed.
- Gravity Dr. Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) is a brilliant medical engineer on her first shuttle mission, with veteran astronaut Matt Kowalsky (George Clooney). But on a seemingly routine spacewalk, disaster strikes. The shuttle is destroyed, leaving Stone and Kowalsky completely alone—tethered to nothing but each other and spiraling out into the blackness. The deafening silence tells them they have lost any link to Earth…and any chance for rescue. As fear turns to panic, every gulp of air eats away at what little oxygen is left. But the only way home may be to go further out into the terrifying expanse of space. Director Alfonso Cuaron.
- Pan's Labyrinth In this fairy tale, a small family in Spain moves into an old house in 1943 after the rise of Fascism. Their eldest daughter, at age 12, falls in love with a fawn that lives in the old ruined labyrinth behind their decrepit home. Director Guillermo del Toro.
- Hispanic/Latino Heritage from the National Archives Search records from Arts, Entertainment & Culture, Education and Civil Rights, Family History Research, Hispanic Leaders in the U.S., Immigration/Hispanic Society in the U.S., and Military.
- Latino American Film Series from PBS SoCal Latino Americans is a landmark three-part, six-hour documentary series that is set to air nationally on PBS in the fall of 2013.
- Smithsonian Latino Center Learn more about Hispanic Heritage and get involved.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture This work provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on Mexico’s rich history and culture. An international group of leading authors, including well-known Mexican scholars, reveals new or little-known dimensions of this past or confirms with new sources previous interpretations of the Mexican experience. Themes include the expected topics of politics and economics, combined with powerful articles on biography, environment, gender, and culture, including music, art, and cinema. Unique to this work are the articles on digital sources, such as digitized archives and photographic collections, with information on accessing and using them for historical research.
- The History of Hispanic and Latinx Superheroes In honor of National Hispanic Heritage Month, Andrew Rivera is here with a look at the history of Hispanic and Latinx superheroes.
- Día de los Muertos / Day of the Dead Día de los Muertos has been adapted for centuries from its pre-colonial roots to the popular depictions in mass media today. Inspired by rich Oaxacan traditions, it was brought to East Los Angeles in the 1970’s as a way to enrich and reclaim Chicano identity through a small celebration at Self Help Graphics and Art. Since then, the celebration has grown in proportions with renditions enacted in communities all around the world. In contrast to all the glamorous fanfare Dia de los Muertos now receives, Artbound offers a more intimate look at this ritual through the story of artist Ofelia Esparza, who continues the tradition of building altars to remember the dead. Journey with her as she travels back to Mexico in search of her ancestral roots.
- Dreamers' Club at ChaffeyAsk a Dreamer! Learn about the Dreamers at Chaffey and how to support them.
- Puente Project at ChaffeyLearn about the program's mission to increase the number of Latino students transferring to four-year colleges and universities.
FALL 2022
For the most current event, visit the Center for Culture and Social Justice. For past recordings of the events, visit Chaffey College Facebook Past Live Videos.
Featuring Erick Galindo
Wednesday, September 15th
Ask a Writer Workshop • 1:30-2:15pm Space is limited-registration required, Register Today!
The Journey to Funny • 2:30-3:30pm in HS-143 or via Zoom
Join us for a conversation on Erick’s journey to discover his voice and leverage his experiences to writing comedic scripts for leading entertainment studios.
Erick Galindo is a five-time Telly Award-winning writer, director, and showrunner originally from Southeast Los Angeles. He is the co-creator, writer and executive producer of “The Mexican Beverly Hills, a sitcom currently in development at CBS. His co-written screenplay “A Christmas to Remember” was recently optioned by Broken English and Grandave Studios. Erick is also the creator, head writer, executive producer and host of multiple international hit podcasts including: The Ballad of Chalino Sanchez, WILD, and Out of The Shadows.
Hispanic Heritage Month Events
All events will be Hybrid
Questions? Contact Sandra.Galeas@chaffey.edu
Featuring
Anthony Guaracha is a faculty member in the Sociology Department. He has worked at Chaffey since 2015, teaching a variety of sociology courses. One of his passions is Dj-ing and making connections with people through music and the arts. When Anthony is not teaching or researching, he enjoys spending time with his family, volunteering in the community, and creating radio programing that broadcasts over the airwaves of southern California and beyond.
Laura Santamaria Brady is currently an Assistant Professor of English in the English Department. She was a first-generation college student and navigated her status as both an undocumented and "DACA-mented" person.
Jose Zamora is an Associate Professor of Ethnic Studies at Chaffey College. He was a first-generation college student and received his degrees from CSU Fullerton. He believes that there is a place for everyone in Ethnic Studies and teaches his classes to be inclusive and welcoming. His research topics include: Men and Masculinity, Ethnic Studies Futurism, and Creative Expressions in Ethnic Studies. His favorite Ethnic Studies books include: Pedagogy of the Oppressed (Freire), How to be an Anti-Racist (Kendi), Black skin White mask (Fanon), and The Will to Change (Hooks).
Patricia Gomez earned her BA in sociology with an emphasis on race and social inequalities from the University of California, Berkeley where she was a researcher and scholar activist. She completed her MA in American Studies from California State University, Fullerton with an emphasis on race/ethnicity, women's gender and sexuality, and the national and global communities. Patricia’s teaching appointments include Comparative Ethnic Studies, Race and Ethnicity in the U.S., Chicanx/Latinx Studies, Chicana and Chicano History and who uses a Social Justice, Women of Color, Co-struggler and Black Queer Feminist lenses. Patricia identifies as a Mestiza-womanist, Chicana activist, mentor, and is an ethnic studies professor who has worked directly with students from various backgrounds at both the California State University and California Community Colleges since 2017.
Carlos Lequerica's currently works as the Workforce Training Liaison at the Chaffey College InTech Center. He is responsible for coordinating all training funded by the Employment Training Panel (ETP). Carlos supports and coordinates incumbent workers' professional, electrical, and mechanical training. At Chaffey College, he has provided support to both Instruction and Student Services Departments. During his time at Chaffey College, he has had the privilege of serving students at all three campuses, with the most time spent between the Rancho Cucamonga and Fontana campuses. Carlos is most inspired by students and believes in educational access for all. He possesses a strong sense of pride in going to work daily and helping students reach their educational goals, the same way others once helped him.
Events
Wednesday, September 21
Corridos: My Heritage & How I Learn | WH-142 | 3-4pm | zoom
Thursday, September 22
Herencia Latino America: Exploring Latin American Heritage & Culture | HS-143 | 2-3pm | zoom
Monday, October 3
Ethnic Studies: Explained with Professor Zamora | WH-102 | 11-12pm | zoom
Thursday, October 6
The Non-Traditional First-Generation College Student Experience: A Woman of Color Perspective #YoSoyChaffey (TedTalk) by Professor
Gomez | WH-102 | 11-12pm | zoom
Monday, October 10
On Two Fronts: Latinos & Vietnam Film Screening |HS-143 | 2-4PM | zoom
Thursday, October 13
Multidimensional Identities: October Heritage Celebrations| HS-143 | 2-3pm | zoom
Friday, October 14
Chavela Movie Screening | HS-143 | 2-4pm | zoom
Special thanks to EOPS for their collaborative efforts. To access the resources provided via the Chaffey College Library's databases, enter your MyChaffey Portal login information, when prompted.